Monday, October 22, 2012

Author Interview and Giveaway: Fruit of My Spirit by Deanna Nowadnick


Welcome to the CBRB, Deanna! Thank you for being here! When did you first discover that you loved writing?

Great first question! I graduated from college with a major in English, but never really enjoyed writing. I think it had more to do with being told what to write, rather than the writing itself. Working on my first book, I finally admitted my love for writing. I recognized the gift I’d been given and the wonderful opportunity God was giving me to share my stories.

Why do you write the type of books that you do?

Both my featured book and second book are both memoirs of short stories. I am privileged to share messages of hope and inspiration. I have been blessed as a child of God, someone who has known great joy and the frustration of life’s challenges, major and minor. The books are a joyful celebration of mercy and grace.

What was your greatest obstacle in writing and how did you overcome it?

More a challenge than an obstacle was my awareness that my books are about God and His love and faithfulness, not Deanna and her mastery over the elements. It’s easy to think that life is all about me, but we all know differently. Trusting God to give me the stories and the words is a walk of faith, especially for someone who prides herself on her ability to micromanage any- and everything!

Has writing changed your life in any way?

Ten years ago (or two years ago, for that matter), if you had told me I would one day be responding to an Author Interview, I would have rolled my eyes and then laughed you out of the room. May I just affirm the saying, “God’s not finished with me yet.” He never is, is he?

What Bible scripture has impacted your life the most?

Psalm 51: “Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy holy spirit from me. Restore unto me the joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with thy free spirit.” Notice I use the King James Version. I love the beauty of the words and their message. Oh, to have a heart like David!

Is there a book you’ve read that has been truly spectacular?

There are many books that have been truly spectacular for different reasons. Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird gave me the courage to write and to keep writing. Jane Austen warms my heart. Beth Moore feeds my soul and nurtures my faith. Steig Larsson wow’s me. And honorable mention has to go to Carolyn Keene who gave a young girl her first real love of reading. In third grade I really just wanted to grow up and be Nancy Drew.

What’s the funniest/quirkiest thing you’ve ever done?

I’m a study in contrasts. The competent, Type-A part of me assists in the management of a very successful investment advisory firm, cares for all things financial at church, and leads where and when she can. The ditzy, quirky part of me has been known to talk so much to my latte lady that I’ve left without paying. More than once I’ve gotten back to my desk and then turned around with a red face and the dollars owing.

Buy At Amazon
Please tell us about the featured book.

Fruit of My Spirit is part Bible study, part memoir, part confessional. What started as one story for my sons about how I met their father quickly became a much larger story about God’s love and faithfulness. As you’ll read, God has encircled me during joyous, sad, cringe-worthy, heartwarming, forgettable, memorable moments in life. The book is for anyone who’s ever questioned God’s ability to love and forgive, who’s ever wondered about their place in God’s family or God’s place in theirs.  

Can you please give us the first page?

            I’m a mess.  The highlights in my hair hide a pre-gray drab.  One hip and one knee have been replaced and another knee should be.  I’m overweight and under the illusion that I’m going to wake up one morning to a younger, skinnier self.  On good days I whine and complain.  On bad days I whine and complain more.  I’m impatient whenever life has the audacity to thwart my plans.  I get frustrated whenever life presents a detour or a hurdle.  At one point I planned to live to 125.  When I remembered that the Bible says Moses only lived to 120, I decided on 119.  I can’t imagine God needing me around longer than Moses!
            Life has its challenges.  Life is a challenge.  I know my existence is about more than this body.  I know it’s not about gray hair, failing body parts and excess pounds.  I know the important stuff’s on the inside, but honestly, I’m not so sure that the inside stuff’s any prettier.  Perhaps I’ve been expecting God to act as my own fairy godmother, ready to pop into the scene any moment now.  With a twinkle in His eye and a wand in His hand, I’ve been waiting to be tapped ever so gently on the forehead and magically transformed into a loving, joyous, peaceful, patient, kind, good, faithful, gentle, self-controlled delight in His life, adorned in a nice white ensemble, cute shoes, and fresh nail polish.  In thinking that, I’ve not only trivialized God’s love and forgiveness, but I’ve missed the magnitude of His mercy that’s been shared with me over and over again.  I’ve overlooked the fruit of His Holy Spirit that’s already a part of my own spirit in all that I do and all that I am.
            So now what?  Filled with His Holy Spirit, do I step back from life as I’ve known it?  Do I need to tiptoe around the messiness of each day, avoiding the dirt and grime of my daily existence?  If not wearing a white ensemble, something off-white?  With His fruit, will I have this new aura about me that parts the seas and calms the storm within?

Where can readers learn more information about you?

I love connecting with readers!
·         Website: www.deannanowadnick.com (note: my website is being redone, so check back September 1st!)
·         Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/FruitofMySpirit
·         Twitter: @deannanowadnick
·         Books: Barnes & Noble and Amazon

**********
GIVEAWAY!
Deanna has kindly offered to giveaway a print copy of Fruit of My Spirit! Just leave a comment with your email address to be entered in the giveaway. Giveaway is available to U.S. residents only. Be sure to check the sidebar (under Winner Announcement) after the giveaway is over to see if you've won. The winner must contact me by going to my "Contact Me" page and sending me an email. 

For extra entries: 
~Be a follower +1 
~Add my button to your blog +1
 ~Post about this giveaway +2
~Be a subscriber +2
~Tweet +1
~Post on Facebook +1
(please leave a separate comment for each extra entry)

Giveaway ends on Saturday, November 3, 2012 at midnight (Eastern time). Winner will be chosen through Random.org,

Friday, October 19, 2012

CFBA Blog Tour: Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden

This week, the
Christian Fiction Blog Alliance
is introducing
Against the Tide
Bethany House Publishers (October 1, 2012)
by
Elizabeth Camden


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A Word from Elizabeth:

I am a college librarian in central Florida by day, but by night I can be found pounding out inspirational historical novels the moment the sun goes down. I love writing books about fiercely intelligent people who are confronted with profound challenges. As a rather introverted person, I have found that writing is the best way for me to share my faith and a sense of resilience with others.

I married relatively late in life, which turned out to be an odd kind of blessing. I had gotten very good at leading a solo life, and although I was not particularly content being alone, I had become reconciled to it. Most importantly, it taught me never to take my husband for granted. I give daily thanks for the blessing of being able to share a life with my favorite person on the planet.

As for who I am? I love old Hitchcock films, the hour before sunset, a long, sweaty run through the Florida countryside, and a glass of good wine. After spending my entire adult life on a college campus (either as a student or a librarian) I have finally been able to pursue my ultimate goal of writing professionally.

ABOUT THE BOOK
Buy At Amazon
Love and Lives are Threatened in Camden's Latest Offering

As a child, Lydia Pallas became all too familiar with uncertainty when it came to the future. Now, she's finally carved out a perfect life for herself--a life of stability and order with no changes, surprises, or chaos of any kind. She adores her apartment overlooking the bustling Boston Harbor, and her skill with languages has landed her a secure position as a translator for the U.S. Navy.

However, it is her talent for translation that brings her into contact with Alexander Banebridge, or "Bane," a man who equally attracts and aggravates her. When Bane hires Lydia to translate a seemingly innocuous collection of European documents, she hesitantly agrees, only to discover she is in over her head.

Just as Bane's charm begins to win her over, Lydia learns he is driven by a secret campaign against some of the most dangerous criminals on the East Coast, compelled by his faith and his past. Bane forbids any involvement on Lydia's part, but when the criminals gain the upper hand, it is Lydia on whom he must depend.

If you would like to read the first chapter of Against the Tide, go HERE.
  
MY REVIEW
This book was lovely inside and out. I enjoyed Against the Tide even more than I enjoyed Elizabeth's last book The Rose of Winslow Street. And that's saying a lot! I was swept up in Elizabeth's writing style. Again. So smooth, like buttery milk-chocolate melting on my tongue. And she outdid herself with the unique, well-fleshed-out characters of Lydia and Bane. I loved Lydia immediately-- Bane followed not too long afterward.

The plot was-- oh my! So unique. I loved learning about the opium trade. To think it was allowed legally in teething medicine for babies! Elizabeth opened my eyes to true events I never even knew existed-- and I love that. Learning something new, while being thoroughly entertained, because the plot was definitely more than entertaining. It was thrilling. Filled with romance and intrigue and danger. And witty humor. I'm chuckling just thinking about it:-)

Lydia's struggle endeared her to me. My heart broke every time she'd give in to her temptation-- to the point of tears. And the tremendous hardships she had to endure to rid herself of that temptation was painful to witness, as well. Bane's faithfulness to her through it all warmed my heart. As did his dedication to a just cause. But I was extremely glad when Bane was free to love Lydia-- without fear that he'd bring her harm.

A most definite 5 star book that deserves top place on your To-Be-Read pile. Sweet romance, lovely writing, suspenseful plot, and an endearing cause await you between its pages! It can be bought at Amazon.

Wednesday, October 17, 2012

Bethany House Book Reviews: Submerged by Dani Pettrey, Wild West Wind series by Lauraine Snelling, and The Rose of Winslow Street by Elizabeth Camden

Buy At Amazon
"A sabotaged plane. Two dead deep-water divers.

One single clue.

Bailey Craig vowed never to set foot in Yancey, Alaska, again. She has a past, and a reputation--and Yancey's a town that doesn't forget. She's returned only to bury a loved one killed in the plane crash, but then dark evidence emerges and Bailey's own expertise becomes invaluable for the case.

Cole McKenna can face dangerous rescue dives. He can face the fear a murderer may be threatening his town. But facing the reality of Bailey's reappearance is a tougher challenge. She broke his heart...but doesn't seem to be the same girl who left Yancey ten years ago. And he's not the same guy she left behind.

Racing against the clock and a rising body count, Bailey and Cole must move beyond the hurts of their pasts to work together until the truth of what is hidden in the depths finally surfaces."


Submerged was an interesting read. The McKenna family were a hoot! The way they interacted and joked around was nice to see. Bailey was a solid character, as well. Her hurts and fears were portrayed in a real way. And, as I hinted to before, the secondary characters added a nice dimension to the story. I'm especially glad that Piper and Landon will be making a reappearance with Dani's next novel.

The mystery, which was the center of the plot, was unique. The Russian history and facts intrigued me, all the more since I have a basic knowledge of Russian history. However, for someone who does not have a basic knowledge of Russian history, I'm not sure how interesting the facts would be. In fact, it might seem a little confusing, but, all in all, Dani did a good job at presenting the historical facts.

I rate this book 4 out of 5 stars. If you're looking for an engaging mystery– Russian style– with a fun cast of quirky characters, I'd recommend you pick up a copy of Submerged. It can be bought at Amazon.

Buy At Amazon
Buy At Amazon
"After fleeing North Dakota and the now defunct Wild West Show, Cassie Lockwood and her companions have finally found the hidden valley in South Dakota where her father had dreamed of putting down roots. But to her dismay, she discovers a ranch already built on her land.

Cassie's arrival surprises Mavis Engstrom and forces her to reveal secrets she's kept hidden for years. Her son Ransom is suspicious of Cassie and questions the validity of her claim to the valley. But Lucas Engstrom decides from the start that he is in love with her and wants to marry her.

Will Cassie be able to build a home on the Bar E Ranch and fulfill her father's dream of raising horses, or will she be forced to return to the itinerant life of her past?"


I must say that I am very disappointed in the Wild West Wind series. These are the first books I've read by Lauraine Snelling and based on the synopsis, I was expecting an intriguing mystery, a handsome cowboy (since it is the wild west), a compelling heroine– anything other than what I got... which was basically nothing, at least in the first book Valley of Dreams. It contained no plot, meaning there was no action, no romance, not even the promised mystery. Simply, I read the book out of obligation only– and to see if eventually something would happen.

The second book was somewhat better. I had actually gotten the book for a cousin who'd enjoyed the first book, but she had already ordered it. Given my experience with the first book, I did not faithfully read this one, but I read enough to see that this book was an improvement to the last one. There was some romance in this book, a few interesting scenes where Cassie is trick-riding, and even a shocking secret revealed about Mavis Engstrom. As of right now, I will not bother with concluding this series even though Whispers In the Wind was an improvement, But don't let my review stop you from trying them out. I've seen many people who have loved these books– my cousin included (who, by the way, has a very similar reading taste to mine). I'm only reviewing with honesty. If you're interested in trying these books out you can buy them here: Valley of Dreams and Whispers In the Wind.

Buy At Amazon
"In the small town of Colden, Massachusetts, Libby Sawyer leads a quiet, predictable life. Yet beneath the surface, she is haunted by a secret.

Newly arrived on American shores, Michael Dobrescu is far from predictable, and his arrival in Colden is anything but quiet. Michael's shocking claim to be the rightful owner of Libby's father's house immediately alienates him from the appalled citizens of Colden.

Despite her own outrage, Libby is unwittingly fascinated by this enigmatic man who seems equally intrigued by her. As the court's decision about the house looms and the layers of mystery surrounding Michael's past are unveiled, Libby's loyalties are tested in ways she never imagined.
"

The Rose of Winslow Street was lovely– inside and out. What drew me in immediately was Elizabeth Camden's exceptional writing style: smooth and engaging with wonderful descriptions.

The characters were three-dimensional and relatable. Libby was sweet and the way she loved her father and worked for him without complaints, even when he insulted her love of art, was admirable. And Michael was the most unique hero I've read about to date. His love of flowers and his ability to dissect smells was... different. Seriously, imagine a bear of man who acts barbaric but has a love for flowers? Definitely unique. And his loyalty to his family was so heart-tugging. Also, his "barbaric-ness" allowed some humorous moments. For example, his marriage proposal was one of the funniest ever (this scene was definitely not done with the usual romantic seriousness). The secondary characters added to the story's richness, as well.

The plot itself was interesting and engaging. And well-researched. It definitely kept me turning the pages and I'm fairly confident that if you were to pick up this book, it would arrest your attention, as well. I give it 5 out of 5 stars. It can be bought at Amazon.

** Many thanks to Bethany House Publishers for providing the above titles free in exchange for my honest review, which I have given**

Monday, October 15, 2012

Author Interview and Giveaway: Shattered Silence by Margaret Daley

Welcome to the CBRB, Margaret! Thank you for being here! Can you tell us a little bit about yourself?

I have been writing for thirty-four years and sold my first book in 1981 in the secular market. After twenty books, I was introduced to the Christian market by the Lord, who gave me a story I could only tell with a faith thread in it. I have gone on to sell sixty-three books since that happened in 2000.

I have been married for forty-two years to Mike and we have one Shaun and four granddaughters from ages 3-12. I also have three cats that adopted us and think they rule the household. Don't tell them but they probably do.

When did you first discover that you loved writing?

I've always been a storyteller since I was a little girl. I never wrote those stories down, but after reading many books, I decided to try to write one. Since that first book, I've been continually writing--all with a romance thread in the story.

Why do you write the type of books that you do?


The first books I remember reading and really enjoying were the books in the Nancy Drew series. From there I grew to love suspense and adventure (usually with a love interest). I wanted to write what I enjoyed to read the most.

What was your greatest obstacle in writing and how did you overcome it?

Spelling. I'm the world worst speller, but over the years I have gotten better. I used to say if you can't spell the word how in the world can you find it in the dictionary. I've called my husband many times to ask him how to spell something. The mechanics of writing had to be learned. The story came more naturally to me.

Has writing changed your life in any way?

I taught special education for 27 years before I retired to write full-time. My writing allowed me to do that and not go crazy. I have to have something to do. I couldn't just retire and have nothing to do. My writing also allowed me to research a lot of different topics and visit many different places.

What Bible scripture has impacted your life the most?

I love the 23rd Psalm and what it tells us. God is with us through the worst. That is comforting to know.

Is there a book you've read that has been truly spectacular?

Amazonia by James Rollins (secular--pure suspense/adventure)

What’s the funniest/quirkiest thing you've ever done?

I once came out of a bathroom with toilet paper hanging out of my waistband of my pants. I turned ten shades of red.

Buy At Amazon
Please tell us about the featured book.

Blurb for Shattered Silence--Men of the Texas Rangers Series
A serial killer is targeting illegal aliens in southern Texas. Texas Ranger Cody Jackson is paired with a local police officer, Liliana Rodriguez, to investigate the murders. 

While the case brings Cody and Liliana ever closer, the tension between Americans and Mexican Americans heightens. As Cody and Liliana race to discover who is behind the murders and bring peace to the area, what they uncover isn't what they expected. Will Cody and Liliana’s faith and love be strong enough to survive the storm of violence?

This book in the series (each book stands alone) is about bullying in various situations in society from high school to the workplace to a marriage.

Can you please give us the first page?

No one sees me. They walk right by me and don’t even know I am here. I’m invisible.

But that’s all going to change today. The woman who has agreed to marry me will be here soon. The world will finally know someone cares about me. It was worth all my savings to bring her across the border.

I’m tired of being alone. Being nobody. I’m getting married. I won’t be invisible anymore—at least she’ll see me.
* * *
Maria Martinez lay flat on the dust-covered wooden planks, her right eye pressed against the hole in the floor of the abandoned house. Pedro won’t find me here. I’ll win this time.

A sneeze welled up in Maria, and she fought to stop it. She couldn't.  Quickly she looked through the small opening to make sure Pedro hadn't come and heard her. Her older brother always thought he could do everything better than her. Not this time. He’d never think to look here. He’d think she was too afraid to hide here. A rattling behind her sent a shot of fear through her. She went still. Her lungs held her breath and wouldn't let go.

There’s no such thing as ghosts. He just told me that to scare me. I’m not a baby. I’m eight.

Her words fueled her courage, and she popped up to look over her shoulder. Nothing. Just the wind blowing through the broken window. Maria sank to the floor in relief and took up her post again. Watching through the hole. If Pedro came into the house, she’d be ready to hide. He was not going to find her. For once, she would have the last laugh. He was just two years older, but the way he acted, you’d think he was Papa.

Another sound caught her attention. Down below. Footsteps. She started to hop up and scramble to her hiding place nearby, but a gruff, deep male voice stopped her. Not Pedro. Who?

With her eye glued to the hole again, she waited to see who it was. Another voice—a woman’s—answered the man, then she laughed. A funny laugh—like Pedro when he made fun of her.

“Dumb. Evil eye,” the woman taunted in Spanish.

The man raised his voice, speaking in the same language so fast Maria had a hard time keeping up. Mama insisted on only speaking English at home. Now she wished she was better at Spanish. But she heard some words—the ones he slowed and emphasized, repeating several times in a louder voice a few cuss words that got Papa in trouble if he said them at home. The deep gruff voice ended with, “You will pay.”

The woman laughed again, but the sound died suddenly. “What are you doing?” she said in Spanish.

Maria strained to see the two people. The lady moved into her line of sight as she stepped back, shaking her head, her long brown hair swirling in the air. Maria glimpsed the top of a tan cowboy hat that hid the man’s face from her.

The beautiful lady held up her hands. “No!”

The fear in that one word chilled Maria.

Before she could think of what to do, a gunshot, like she’d heard on TV, blasted the quiet. The lady jerked back. She glanced down at her chest, then up, remaining upright for a few heartbeats before crumbling to the floor.

Maria froze. Her mind blanked.

The man came closer to the still lady on the floor, her unseeing dark eyes staring right at Maria, pinning her against the wooden planks. She saw the gun as he lifted his arm and aimed it at the woman. He shot her in the stomach then the forehead.

Maria gasped.

The man must have whirled away. Suddenly he wasn't in her line of vision. She bolted to her feet as the sound of heavy footsteps coming up the stairs echoed down the hallway.

Terror locked a vise about Maria and held her in place.

Where can readers learn more information about you?


I love hearing from readers.
Website: http://www.margaretdaley.com
Blog: http://www.margaretdaley.com/margarets-blog/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/margaretdaley
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/margaretdaleybooks

**********
GIVEAWAY!
Margaret has kindly offered to giveaway a print copy of Shattered Silence! Just leave a comment with your email address to be entered in the giveaway. Giveaway is available to U.S. residents only. Be sure to check the sidebar (under Winner Announcement) after the giveaway is over to see if you've won. The winner must contact me by going to my "Contact Me" page and sending me an email. 

For extra entries: 
~Be a follower +1 
~Add my button to your blog +1
 ~Post about this giveaway +2
~Be a subscriber +2
~Tweet +1
~Post on Facebook +1
(please leave a separate comment for each extra entry)


Giveaway ends on Saturday, October 27, 2012 at midnight (Eastern time). Winner will be chosen through Random.org,

Wednesday, October 10, 2012

CFBA Tour: Full Disclosure by Dee Henderson

Buy At Amazon
"Ann Silver is a cop's cop. As the Midwest Homicide Investigator, she is called in to help local law enforcement on the worst of cases, looking for answers to murder. Hers is one of the region's most trusted investigative positions. 

Paul Falcon is the FBI's top murder cop in the Midwest. If the victim carried a federal badge or had a security clearance, odds are good Paul and his team see the case file or work the murder. 

Their lives intersect when Ann arrives to pass a case off her desk and onto his. A car wreck and a suspicious death offer a lead on a hired shooter he is tracking. Paul isn't expecting to meet someone, the kind that goes on the personal side of the ledger, but Ann Silver has his attention. 


The better he gets to know her, the more Paul realizes her job barely scratches the surface of who she is. She knows spies and soldiers and U.S. Marshals, and has written books about them. She is friends with the former Vice President. People with good reason to be cautious about who they let into their lives deeply trust her. Paul wonders just what secrets Ann is keeping, until she shows him the John Doe Killer case file, and he starts to realize just who this lady he is falling in love with really is..."


Reading Status: 20-50 pages left (almost finished)

I've heard many great things about Dee Henderson's novels, so I was eager to get into her latest novel, Full Disclosure. This is not the usual fun and fluffy romance. Dee Henderson digs deep below the surface of romance and offers the most realistic look at love that I've read in a novel to date. The overall mood of the novel is somber, with many dark secrets and deep, complex characters. The characters' relationship with God is deep and personal, as well, which I liked. And the FBI case was intriguing.

Despite its many good qualities, it was hard to get into the book. The too-descriptive writing bogged down the flow of the book and caused me to want to shout, "Enough with the details, already!" And though the premise of the book was interesting, I kept reading only because I anticipated something interesting and WOW to happen; yet, it didn't come. And the secrets that were supposed to be "shocking" were not delivered with much punch since the author hinted at them beforehand- not allowing me as the reader to be "wowed."

The characters were unique in that they were very complex- especially Ann. Paul was a kind and loving hero but Ann was somewhat intimidating. It was a little hard liking her in spite of the tragedies she endured.

Overall, I must say I'm rather disappointed in my first try of Dee Henderson's work. I give it 3 out of 5 stars. But perhaps the ending will save the novel for me. If you're already accustomed to Dee's writing, then maybe you'll enjoy her latest. Give it a try and see- especially if you like a well-researched and deeper-than-surface novel. It can be bought at Amazon.

** Thanks to the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for providing me a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, which I have given**

Wednesday, October 3, 2012

I'm Back! (plus) Book Review: The New Recruit by Jill Williamson

I unexpectedly had to take a blogging break, but I'm glad to be back and ready to get back into the game:-) God-willing, those interviews and giveaways- and book reviews- will start pouring in again.

So, I'll begin with my review of (another;-) Young Adult book titled the New Recruit by Jill Williamson, an author whose quickly becoming a favorite. As a "Welcome Back!"treat, I'm setting up a table of my Grandmother's delicious flan, a Spanish dessert (my mouth's watering just thinking about it). Alright, now that review...

**********
Buy At Amazon
"Forced to choose between military school and a Christian spy organization, skeptic Spencer Garmond signs on with the Bible geeks. But before he even boards the plane for Moscow, Spencer realizes this is no Bible club.

These guys mean business.

Stumbling onto a case involving a gang of homeless boys, a chilling tattoo, and the always beautiful Anya Vseveloda, Spencer struggles to find the faith needed to save the Mission League from enemy infiltration."

Jill has impressed me again with her talent of writing engaging Christian YA books. She was the first to introduce me to this genre and I am still fairly new to it, but I can say one thing for certain: Jill is an author to keep updated on if you want a fast-paced, hilarious and Christ-centered read. 

The New Recruit drew me in immediately for several reasons. (1) The unusual plot about a Christian spy organization. (2) The interesting and diverse characters- especially Spencer. (3) Jill's voice [her unique way of writing]. Since the novel was in first-person, it was interesting to see Spencer's view on the world- especially since he's a teenage boy. And (4) An anticipation for the next twist or new mystery to uncover. These– and many other factors– combined to make a wonderful read.

The Spiritual theme of this book was fascinating: Spiritual warfare. And there is a great lesson to be learned in this book. Spencer is not a Christian and it is interesting to note how he, and, most likely, other unbelievers, view Christians. Sometimes we try to shove the Gospel down people's throats and, as a result, push them further away from God. Our jobs, however, are to sow the seeds of the Gospel and leave the rest to God.

Finally, one of my favorite aspects of this book is the laugh-out-loud moments. The way Spencer thinks is just too funny! His sarcastic thoughts and– trust me, you'll have chuckled a great deal by the time you finish this book. And that's exactly what you should do: buy the book and finish reading it. It'll certainly be worth your time! (I'm excited to say that this is the first in a four book series. Yay! I'm eagerly anticipating the next installment– there are still some mysteries left to uncover:-) 

This book deserves 5 out of 5 stars. It can be bought at Amazon.

** Thanks to the author for providing a copy of this book free in exchange for my honest review, which I have given**